Euro Coins Game
Euro Coins Game

This is a didactical game which is intended to help students match the Euro coins with the country of origin. Eleven countries made up the euro area when the euro was introduced in 1999. 16 countries now belong. The most recent members are Slovakia, Cyprus and Malta.

The euro coin series comprises eight different denominations: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cent, €1 and €2. The euro coins have a common side and a national side. The national side indicates the issuing country.

Common and national sides

The common sides of the coins were designed by Mr Luc Luycx of the Royal Belgian Mint. They show images of the European Union or of Europe and symbolise the unity of the EU. The national sides show country-specific designs, surrounded by the 12 stars of the European Union.

To play this game a special plug-in is required. Users are invited to follow the instructions on the main page of the game. The game was designed by Zoltan Galik and it is available in 23 languages. Click the flag which relates to your language.


24/04/2009 by: Petru Dumitru